Sound of Music with Oberammergau

By Trafalgar Tours

Escorted Tour 9 Days From $3195.00
 
Join the von Trapps on a lyrical adventure that will make your heart sing, from Munich's medieval splendour and the romance of Salzburg's 'Sound of Music' to Oberammergau's poignant Passion Play.
 

Itinerary

Day 1: Arrive Munich (2 Nights)
Willkommen in Munich - a city of sophistication and all the flavours of Bavaria, where you'll launch your lyrical sojourn through the Sound of Music and spiritual interlude in Oberammergau. Join your Travel Director and fellow travellers for a memorable Welcome Reception.

Day 2: Munich Orientation and Free Time
Embark on a morning orientation tour past some of the city's most renowned sites, including the Opera House, Ludwigstrasse, the Hofbräuhaus and Marienplatz, whose Glockenspiel delights visitors throughout the day with its re-enactment of 16th-century tales. Spend the rest of the day at leisure exploring the city's Old Town or consider an Optional Experience to the Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site, the first of the Nazi camps established in Germany. This evening, connect with the city's rich beer heritage and consider a memorable night out at a local beer hall.

Day 3: Munich - Neuschwanstein Castle - Oberammergau (2 Nights)
Journey to Neuschwanstein Castle, built as a retreat for shy King Ludwig II to retire from public life, then continue to Bavaria and the faithful village of Oberammergau, where locals have performed the Passion Play every decade since 1634 to fulfil their vow after the village was spared from the grip of the plague. Dine in your hotel this evening.

Day 4: Oberammergau (Passion Play Performance)
Celebrate God's grace and give thanks as the Oberammergau villagers do in their dramatic depiction of the life and death of Jesus Christ. Take your premium seats for a poignant afternoon spent watching the Passion Play, witnessing first-hand the covenant that was made with God in the 17th century. Dine at a local restaurant this evening before taking your seat for the captivating second half of this performance as night falls.

Day 5: Oberammergau - Berchtesgaden - Salzburg
Continue to the foot of the Alps and visit the National Park of Berchtesgaden featuring soul-stirring mountain views. This evening, arrive in Salzburg.

Day 6: Salzburg Sightseeing - Mondsee - Villach
Join your 'Local Specialist' for a tour of the city's iconic highlights including Getreidegasse, the Salzburg Cathedral, Mozart's birthplace and many of the locations used in the film 'The Sound of Music'. Leave the sounds of Salzburg behind for lakeside Mondsee, where you'll visit Mondsee Abbey, the one-time Benedictine monastery that served as the church where Captain Von Trapp and Maria were married in the film. This afternoon travel to Villach where we will 'Connect With Locals' and enjoy a Carinthian 'Be My Guest' dinner with the Missionary Sisters of the Precious Blood in the Monastery of Kloster Wernberg.

Day 7: Villach - Piber Stud Farm - Graz - Vienna (2 Nights)
'Dive Into Culture' during a visit to the Lipizzaner Stud farm at Piber and gain insights into the breeding of the Spanish Riding School's athletic white stallions. Later, stop in the town of Graz with its galleried courtyards and Renaissance squares. Finally arrive in the Austrian capital, Vienna, and check in to your hotel.

Day 8: Vienna Sightseeing and Free Time
Enjoy an exclusive guided visit of the Habsburg royal collection of art at the Kunsthistorisches Museum, prior to admission of the general public, 'Dive Into Culture' and visit the Kunstkammer during this private insider visit. Later, your 'Local Specialist' will show you the city's major landmarks and palaces during your included sightseeing tour. The Imperial Boulevards lead to views of the Opera House, the Hofburg Palace, the Parliament and St. Stephen's Cathedral. The magic continues with a walking tour through the oldest parts of the city near 'Am Hof'. This evening, join your fellow travellers for a Farewell Dinner.

Day 9: Depart Vienna
We say a fond farewell to newfound friends and the beauty of Vienna at the end of an unforgettable experience. Airport transfers are available. Conditions apply.

Sightseeing Highlights

Sightseeing Highlights:
ORIENTATION of Munich, Oberammergau, Villach, Graz
PREMIUM TICKETS for the Passion Play in Oberammergau
VIEW Mozart's Birthplace in Salzburg
VISIT Neuschwanstein Castle, the alpine resort of Berchtesgaden, film locations of 'The Sound of Music' in Salzburg, the Kunsthistorisches Museum in Vienna

What's Included

Dining Highlights:
8 breakfasts
6 dinners (including Be My Guest)

First class travel Highlights:
Audio Headsets for flexible sightseeing
Daily breakfast and up to half your evening meals
Luxury air-conditioned coach with WiFi in most countries or alternative transportation (such as rail journeys)
Cherry-picked hotels, all tried and trusted
Optional Experiences and free time
All porterage and restaurant gratuities
Must-see sightseeing and surprise extras
An expert Travel Director and professional Driver
All hotel tips, charges and local taxes
Handcrafted Highlights
VIP entry to many sights

Dates & Prices

Note: Rows highlighted in green below are guaranteed departures

Start Date End Date Brochure Price Actions
Sat May 16, 2020 Sun May 24, 2020 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Sat May 23, 2020 Sun May 31, 2020 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Sat May 30, 2020 Sun Jun 7, 2020 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Sat Jun 6, 2020 Sun Jun 14, 2020 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Sat Jun 13, 2020 Sun Jun 21, 2020 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Sat Jun 20, 2020 Sun Jun 28, 2020 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Sat Jun 27, 2020 Sun Jul 5, 2020 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Sat Jul 4, 2020 Sun Jul 12, 2020 $3195.00 Reserve My Spot
Sat Jul 11, 2020 Sun Jul 19, 2020 $3195.00 Reserve My Spot
Sat Jul 18, 2020 Sun Jul 26, 2020 $3195.00 Reserve My Spot
Sat Jul 25, 2020 Sun Aug 2, 2020 $3195.00 Reserve My Spot
Sat Aug 1, 2020 Sun Aug 9, 2020 $3195.00 Reserve My Spot
Sat Aug 8, 2020 Sun Aug 16, 2020 $3195.00 Reserve My Spot
Sat Aug 15, 2020 Sun Aug 23, 2020 $3195.00 Reserve My Spot
Sat Aug 22, 2020 Sun Aug 30, 2020 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Sat Aug 29, 2020 Sun Sep 6, 2020 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Sat Sep 5, 2020 Sun Sep 13, 2020 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Sat Sep 12, 2020 Sun Sep 20, 2020 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Sat Sep 19, 2020 Sun Sep 27, 2020 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Sat Sep 26, 2020 Sun Oct 4, 2020 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon May 16, 2022 Tue May 24, 2022 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon May 23, 2022 Tue May 31, 2022 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon May 30, 2022 Tue Jun 7, 2022 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Jun 6, 2022 Tue Jun 14, 2022 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Jun 13, 2022 Tue Jun 21, 2022 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Jun 20, 2022 Tue Jun 28, 2022 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Jun 27, 2022 Tue Jul 5, 2022 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Jul 4, 2022 Tue Jul 12, 2022 $3195.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Jul 11, 2022 Tue Jul 19, 2022 $3195.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Jul 18, 2022 Tue Jul 26, 2022 $3195.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Jul 25, 2022 Tue Aug 2, 2022 $3195.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Aug 1, 2022 Tue Aug 9, 2022 $3195.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Aug 8, 2022 Tue Aug 16, 2022 $3195.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Aug 15, 2022 Tue Aug 23, 2022 $3195.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Aug 22, 2022 Tue Aug 30, 2022 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Aug 29, 2022 Tue Sep 6, 2022 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Sep 5, 2022 Tue Sep 13, 2022 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Sep 12, 2022 Tue Sep 20, 2022 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Sep 19, 2022 Tue Sep 27, 2022 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Sep 26, 2022 Tue Oct 4, 2022 $3225.00 Reserve My Spot

Tour Map

Trafalgar Tours
Map Of Sound of Music with Oberammergau

Tour Info

Type: Excorted Tour
Duration: 9 Days
From $3195.00
Status: Waiting List For Pricing