Swiss Highlands and Bavarian Alps

By Tauck Oberammergau

Escorted Tour 8 Days From $5490.00
 
In Switzerland, visit the capital city of Bern, St. Gallen and the Bernese Oberland, and the Lake Constance region; in Germany, explore Munich and the Bavarian Alps... and experience the 2020 Oberammergau Passion Play with the Tauck Difference!

Indulge your passion for scenic splendors, Alpine highs, historic sites and all-embracing cultural traditions that play out in Swiss cities, Bavarian towns and a once-in-a-decade, centuries-old performance in Oberammergau. Bear witness to local life in Bern, past and present. Try schwingen in Affoltern, cheese in Emmental, and chocolate in Maestrani. Dine with royalty in a Habsburg Castle, experience the Passionsspiele from the best seats in the house, explore Munich’s must-see sites and pay a poignant visit to Dachau with a knowledgeable guide

 

Itinerary


Day 1: Arrive Bern
Tour Begins: 6:00pm, Bellevue Palace Bern. A transfer is included from Bern Airport to the Bellevue Palace Bern, a jewel of Art Nouveau architecture ideally located in the historic heart of this UNESCO World Heritage City amidst stunning Alpine views. Join us for a welcome reception and dinner tonight, inspiring with Swiss flair.
Hotel: Bellevue Palace Bern
Dinner

Day 2: Beauty, Bears and Brains in Bern
A garden of delights awaits your discovery on a drive to the flower-filled Rosengarten and the famous Bear Park, Barenpark. Long a symbol of the city and its namesake, bears have been a draw in Bern since the 1500s when they were first put on display as entertainment for its residents. You’ll see bears featured on the town emblem and flag and in the park you’ll explore this morning, where a family of brown bears live in an enclosed riverside setting. Join a local guide on a walk through the rose gardens and bear park, followed by a stroll past the Einstein Museum located inside. Experience a taste of local life on an afternoon visit to the Craftsman’s Village in Wasen, during a Swiss sumo-like wrestling demonstration at the “Schwingen” club in Affoltern and an interactive cheese-making tour in Emmental highlighted by a light tasting dinner.
Hotel: Bellevue Palace Bern
Breakfast and Dinner

Day 3: A Habsburg Castle, Chocolate and the Abbey Library
The imperial legacy of the Habsburgs comes alive today when you meet the Habsburgs during a Tauck Exclusive lunch at medieval Habsburg Castle, one of the most influential royal houses in Europe during the Middle Ages. Next, it’s on to a chocolate making adventure that indulges your sweet tooth with a taste of this coveted Swiss specialty, made in mechanized Swiss chocolate factories since 1819. Your destination tonight is the cobblestoned town of St. Gallen, renowned for its textiles and its lavish Abbey District, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. A guided tour this afternoon includes a walk through town, a visit and demonstration at the textile museum and a visit to the Abbey Library of Saint Gall, considered one of the most beautiful libraries in the world.
Hotel: Einstein St Gallen
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 4: Alpine Highs
Drive to Appenzell for a day of scenic delights. Ride a cable car up towering Santis Peak for views of mountains and cliff-top chalets that will take your breath away, then spend the afternoon exploring the sights in the town’s car-free center. Boasting a quintessential fairy-tale setting, the old town invites with colorful wooden buildings, frescoed and flowered, with old-fashioned signage that takes you back in time. Return to St. Gallen for dinner at your leisure.
Hotel: Einstein St Gallen
Breakfast

Day 5: Oberammergau’s Passion Play
Experience what the world has waiting ten years to see when you drive to the village of Oberammergau for an overnight stay and premier seating at the Passion Play. Performed every decade for the past 800 years with a local cast of thousands, the show fulfills a promise made by village residents who survived the deadly Bubonic Plague in the 1600’s. They vowed to perform a play of the suffering, death and resurrection of Jesus every 10 years if God spared their lives. After the vow was made, there were no more cases of the plague recorded in Oberammergau so the 5-hour show still goes on today as promised. Take your seats this afternoon when the play begins, taking a dinner break at local restaurant before the show ends late tonight.
Hotel: Alpenhof Murnau
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 6: A Castle and Royal Carriages in Munich
Journey along the scenic Yellow Roads to Germany to Munich this morning for a two-night stay. Enjoy guided city sightseeing this afternoon, including visits to the Baroque-styled Nymphenburg Palace, lavishly inspiring, inside and out, and the Carriage Museum, located in the palace’s former riding stables. Enjoy the remainder of the day at leisure, dining in a choice of hotel restaurants.
Hotel: Bayerischer Hof
Breakfast, Dinner

Day 7: Dachau and Munich as Your Wish
Depart for Dachau this morning, where the first of Germany’s infamous Nazi concentration camps opened in 1933 and was used as a model for others that followed. Your visit to the memorial site will be a poignant one that provides historical context to an unimaginable time. Enjoy time at leisure to experience Munich as you wish. Your day ends with a farewell dinner at an iconic city restaurant that serves up a feast of regional fare.
Hotel: Bayerischer Hof
Breakfast, Dinner

Day 8: Journey Home
Tour Ends: Munich  Fly home anytime. A transfer is included from Bayerischer Hof hotel to Munich’s Franz Josef Strauss International Airport. Allow a minimum of three hours for flight check-in at the airport.
Breakfast

Sightseeing Highlights

·Bern - Sightseeing in Bern - Switzerland's de facto capital city, whose medieval historic center is a UNESCO World Heritage Site - includes the Rosengarten (Rose Garden); the Bärengraben (Bear Pit); and the Einstein Experience.
·The Bernese Oberland - En route through the Bernese highlands, a visit to the 11th-century Habsburg Castle, where you'll "meet" Rudolf of Habsburg.
·St. Gallen & Lake Constance - A visit to the Swiss city of St. Gallen, known for its textiles and the medieval Abbey of St. Gall; sightseeing around the popular Lake Constance resort area; and visits to the alpine villages of Flawil and Appenzell.
·Munich - In-depth exploration of Munich including visits to the BMW Museum; Olympiapark München; Nymphenburg Palace; and the Dachau site and memorial.

What's Included

Discovering Bern through the eyes of Albert Einstein on an Einstein Experience tour from the Zytglogge clock tower to the physicist's former house in Bern.
·A tour of medieval Habsburg Castle, original seat of the House of Habsburg that ruled much of Europe for centuries, and a visit from an early Habsburg nobleman.
·A guided visit to the grand Baroque Nymphenburg Palace in Munich, the opulent 18th-century summer residence of Bavaria's ruling House of Wittelsbach

- TAUCK EXCLUSIVE – Meet the Habsburgs during a private lunch at Switzerland’s Habsburg Castle 

 - Premier Category 1 seating at the Passion Play in Oberammergau 

- Two nights in Bern with guided sightseeing to the Rose Gardens, Bear Park, and the Einstein Museum in the Bern History Museum; the craftsman village; Schwingen wrestling and an Emmental cheese tasting 

 - Swiss chocolate making at a chocolate factory

 - A textile demonstration and visit inside the famous Abbey Library in St. Gallen

Dates & Prices

Note: Rows highlighted in green below are guaranteed departures

Start Date End Date Brochure Price Actions
Wed May 13, 2020 Fri May 22, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon May 18, 2020 Wed May 27, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Wed May 20, 2020 Fri May 29, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Fri May 22, 2020 Sun May 31, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Tue Jun 2, 2020 Thu Jun 11, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Wed Jun 3, 2020 Fri Jun 12, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Fri Jun 5, 2020 Sun Jun 14, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Jun 8, 2020 Wed Jun 17, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Jun 15, 2020 Wed Jun 24, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Fri Jun 19, 2020 Sun Jun 28, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Jun 29, 2020 Wed Jul 8, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Wed Jul 1, 2020 Fri Jul 10, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Jul 6, 2020 Wed Jul 15, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Jul 13, 2020 Wed Jul 22, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Wed Jul 15, 2020 Fri Jul 24, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Jul 20, 2020 Wed Jul 29, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Jul 27, 2020 Wed Aug 5, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Wed Jul 29, 2020 Fri Aug 7, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Aug 3, 2020 Wed Aug 12, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Aug 10, 2020 Wed Aug 19, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Wed Aug 12, 2020 Fri Aug 21, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Aug 17, 2020 Wed Aug 26, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Aug 24, 2020 Wed Sep 2, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Wed Aug 26, 2020 Fri Sep 4, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Aug 31, 2020 Wed Sep 9, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Mon Sep 7, 2020 Wed Sep 16, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Wed Sep 9, 2020 Fri Sep 18, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Fri Sep 25, 2020 Sun Oct 4, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot
Wed Sep 30, 2020 Fri Oct 9, 2020 $5490.00 Reserve My Spot

Tour Map

Map Of Swiss Highlands and Bavarian Alps

Tour Info

Type: Excorted Tour
Duration: 8 Days
From $5490.00
Status: Waiting List For Pricing